SANSA (South African National Space Agency)
To position South Africa as an international Hub for Space Solutions for the world of the future. SANSA's mission is to Lead and Inspire the South African Space Community to create a better future.

CNES (Centre national d’études spatiales; English: National Centre for Space Studies)
CNES is the French government agency responsible for shaping and implementing France’s space policy in Europe. Its task is to invent the space systems of the future, bring space technologies to maturity and guarantee France’s independent access to space.

NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration)
The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) is the United States government agency responsible for the civilian space programme as well as aeronautics and aerospace research.

NSDI (National Spatial Data Infrastructure)
National spatial data infrastructure is a data infrastructure implementing a framework of geographic data, metadata, users and tools that are interactively connected to use spatial data in an efficient and flexible way.

NOAA (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)
NOAA uses cutting-edge research and high-tech instrumentation to provide citizens, planners, emergency managers and other decision-makers with reliable information when they need it – from daily weather forecasts, severe storm warnings and climate monitoring to fisheries management, coastal restoration and it supports marine commerce.

USGS (United States Geological Survey)
he USGS is a science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information.

ERS (European Remote Sensing)
ESA's two European Remote Sensing (ERS) satellites, ERS-1 and –2, were launched into the same orbit in 1991 and 1995 respectively. Their payloads included a synthetic aperture imaging radar, radar altimeter and instruments to measure ocean surface temperature and wind fields. ERS-2 added an additional sensor for atmospheric ozone monitoring. The two satellites acquired a combined data set extending more than two decades.

TRL (Technology readiness level)
Technology Readiness Level (TRL) is a method of estimating technology maturity of Critical Technology Elements (CTE) of a program during the acquisition process. They are determined during a Technology Readiness Assessment (TRA) that examines program concepts, technology requirements, and demonstrated technology capabilities. TRL is based on a scale from 1 to 9 with 9 being the most mature technology. The use of TRL enables consistent, uniform, discussions of technical maturity across different types of technology.

TTC (Telemetry, Tracking and Command)
Satellites are a big investment and making sure they stay on target and operate for as long as possible is essential. TTC antenna systems are critical to maintaining and addressing satellite "housekeeping" items to ensure optimal performance. The antennas can do everything from adjust the satellite's orbit, realign the solar panels, perform system back-up, and more.

CSIR (Council for Scientific and Industrial Research)
The CSIR is one of the leading scientific and technology research, development and implementation organisations in Africa. Constituted by an Act of Parliament in 1945 as a science council, the CSIR undertakes directed and multidisciplinary research, technological innovation, as well as industrial and scientific development to improve the quality of life of the country’s people. The CSIR is committed to supporting innovation in South Africa to improve national competitiveness in the global economy. Science and technology services and solutions are provided in support of various stakeholders, and opportunities are identified where new technologies can be further developed and exploited in the private and public sectors for commercial and social benefit. The CSIR’s shareholder is the South African Parliament, held in proxy by the Minister of Science and Technology.

Back to top

© Copyright: South African National Space Agency 2015. All rights are reserved.